h1

Getting To Know You, Theme Song Edition

September 3, 2009

Feel free to call me lazy,but I just can’t seem to get it together to write anything lately. I think waking up early to get the kids back off to school is kicking my ass and leaving me worthless for the rest of the day. And although I’m walking through my life right now like an illiterate zombie, I couldn’t let my readers down by not posting my regular “Getting To Know You” post. Because I really do want to know more about all of you. So I decided to repost an old post from way back in May of last year. I really liked this post and think the question it poses in it, tells a lot about a person. So read on and let me know your answers!

“Wouldn’t it be great if everyone in the world had their own theme song that would follow them wherever they went? Kind of like Rocky ,Shaft ,or Tony Mareno in” Saturday Night Fever“. I think it would make the world a better place.

Think about how much you could learn about someone within the first couple of verses of their song. Takes the whole first impression thing to a whole new level and probably prejudice too. If someone showed up with a song you couldn’t stand, I’d place bets you wouldn’t be as friendly. In crowds it might be a bit annoying, but then again it might create a beautiful harmony. I think though over all this idea has more benefits than hindrances. It would be helpful with people who lack self- confidence. Imagine walking into a room of strangers with your own personal groove following you, you couldn’t help but have more skip in your step. People overall would be happier; because it a proven fact that music helps the mood.

Talking to friends and family about this today, I feel I must put a warning on this idea. DO NOT let anyone else pick your theme song!! I repeat DO NOT let anyone else pick your theme song! When asking today, what do you think my theme song should be, the answers I got were a bit disturbing. My son who’s ten said “well I think your theme song when your mad should be the song from “Jaws”“,nice huh? The other answers for the day were “Psycho” By, Puddle of Mudd, “Lady” by The Commordores, “Get Back” by Ludacris ( I was told that I’m like a white female Ludacris, because of my loud voice and love of the F word) or “Crazy Bitch” by  Buckcherry. Leaves me thinking I need new friends and family!!!! All the songs have a great beat, but I don’t see any of them being worthy enough of theme song status. My pick would be “Just A Girl” by No Doubt, great beat, great lyrics, and a perfect description of me.

Before I post, I leave you with this question; if you could have a theme song that would follow you around wherever you went, what would yours be?????”

40 comments

  1. “Unknown Legend” by Neil Young… at least that is how I feel right now. You know, just depends on my mood!


    • Great song,Mango girl,and wow does it say so much!


  2. Fits me pretty good, ‘cept I only have one kid…

    And, I didn’t work in a diner, I worked in a bar, for nearly 20 years.

    I FEEL that song, in my soul…


    • Those are the best kinds of songs,Mango Girl! Great song!


  3. “Hey Hey We’re the Monkees”. No question about it.


    • LOL! I love it,Chris!


  4. Mine would be Shake Your Groove Thing by Peaches and Herb.


    • Nice one,Peach Tart! I’ll have that song in my head today, I just know it!


  5. all of those are good, this is a great idea but i’m having trouble thinking of one for me.

    “sharp dressed man”? lol


    • Not bad,not bad at all,Mr. C. Now I want you to hear it in your head all day and move to it all throughout your day. I betcha people will notice!


  6. I think about this ALL the time. What my life soundtrack would be (a best-selling, multi-volume set, of course) and sometimes, in the moment, I think “I wish G Love was playing now because I am soooo G Love right now.”


    • Glad to see that someone thinks like me too,One Sassy Girl! Doesn’t it just make your day so much better?


  7. a-ha – That’s easy – Take on Me.

    Oh yeah girlfriend – i have you some award. I know they are terrible but it’s my first award so I had to share the love with my fav ladies.


    • Nice one,Waltsense. I believe that shows your age a little. LOL!

      I’ll have to pop over and pick up the award! Thank you so much!


  8. I wish I had test in school this easy. Since the seventies, and we all know how much I hated the seventies, my friends and even my wife said that Kansas’ song “Carry On My Wayward Son” is a perfect fit. Even to this day, some laugh because they agree. I love the song, but I’ve always been hesitant to listen to the lyrics. So I’m not sure what they mean.


    • Great song choice,RedRaider. You have me sitting here singing out the guitar solo!


  9. Highway Star by Deep Purple. What a groove.

    Wil Harrison.com


    • I like it,Wil!


  10. Stayin Alive!
    <


    • Ah, a Bee Gees lover I see, Noe!?! LOL! I love it!


  11. Anything by Uma Thurman. If she doesn’t sing, she has my permission to follow me round herself ……


    • And here I thought your song would be “Help” by The Beatles,DP. I guess some things change! LOL!


  12. Ah, my song would have to be “Bitch” Written by M. Brooks, S. Peiken I believe it was performed by Allana Morrisette, although I’m not entirely too sure 😀


    • Great song,Skye!


  13. I’m taking two songs, you will love them both they are Show Me Your Genitals and I kill people by Jon Lajoie – Canadien Bastard – You can find them if you google.


    • LMAO! OK those songs are horrible ,FS,but so fucking funny! I don’t know if I would want them to be my theme song though. I don’t think it will make your momma really proud!


      • I just think it’s best to let people know exactly what their dealing with. Besides when I walk into a room full of strangers and I’m rocking my dual theme songs who would dare tell me no?


      • WOW! What can I say,besides you must be one hell of a chick magnet! I bet your hand must hate you!


      • It’s not easy being cheesy


      • And you are just full of that creamy goodness I see!


  14. Lately with my being out of a job and depression nipping at my heels, I would have to say Eat It by Weird Al. I swear that is all I do. On a good day it would have to be Crazy by Gnarls Barkley.


    • Oh Ettarose! I’m sorry to hear that. I’m gonna be wishing and prayer that “Crazy” takes over and “Eat It” is a thing of the past!


  15. Blood Sugar Sex Magic by the Chilli Peppers. It has a certain joi de vivre, and is about shagging. Possibly.

    Or maybe just a trumpetting fanfare, although that might be wearing the fortieth or fiftieth time I announced myself.


    • Stick with RHCP,The Jules. I love that song!


  16. oh i wish i were an oscar meyer weiner
    hmm hmmhmm hmmhmm hmmhmm hmmhmm

    and i would have the weinermobile follow me around servin’ up treats like, ten times a day!


    • For some reason ,Nooter, I would have thought your theme song would have been “Hound dog” by Elvis.


  17. Ass much shit as I’ve been shoveling lately, I think right now mine would be “I will survive”…

    See, I’m singing it right now. Of course there are times when Five Fingers Death Punch’ “Never Enough” fits me more..

    But I think I will have to save my ultimate theme song for when I’m back on my feet again..I can’t think of it right now..


    • Oh Nipsy, things will get better! I’m here if ya need me,and I can’t wait to hear your ultimate theme song!


  18. Maybe there is, if but if there was ever a song called “Things Just Can’t Go My Way” – that would be mine. LOL. It’s been that kind of year!


    • I feel ya on that one,TCC! I hope things get better for you!



Leave a Reply

