h1

It’s A Nice Day For A Warped Wedding

April 28, 2009

I can’t believe how blog neglectful I’ve been lately. It just seems since returning from Spring Break I’ve been extremely busy,not that I’ve been anywhere physically but mentally I’ve been on a journey and not one of self discovery. No, this odyssey is all about making other people’s dreams come true in the form of event planning. Now how the hell I got the honor/punishment of designing,decorating, and coordinating is beyond me. Most people who know me know about my warped sense of creativity and know better than to put me in charge of anything that involves sacred milestones especially the kind that will be captured on film and hung on the mantle as evidence of all eternity. Shockingly enough though, I was asked to do just that for my father in law’s wedding this up coming Friday. Me, being the sweetness that I am just couldn’t say no,and that’s about the precise moment my mind trip began.
To tell you the truth ,I don’t know anything about decorating a wedding. The only parties I’ve ever been in charge of were my children’s birthday parties,and after 18 years of those, I can proudly say that the cops have only been called on three of them,and on each of those occasions nobody was taken into custody.Cops called or not, I loved throwing my kids parties,and seeing that they were MY children, no one could stop me. I got to come up with a theme and go crazy with candy and toys ,and who can’t have fun when candy and toys are involved is beyond me. One year for my oldest daughter’s 16th birthday I threw her the most awesome Willy Wonka themed party complete with edible candy decorations everywhere ,and I even had her brother and sister with a couple of their friends dress up as Oompa Loompas for the celebration.Although they weren’t thrilled about being orange faced and green wigged for the night ,once they were compensated,they took it in stride and learned all the songs and dance moves to go along with it.
The party was a smashing success and as it was dying down that evening, I had kids coming up to me begging me to throw their next party. I was flattered but chalked it up to them being on a sugar high. I thought for sure that once they woke up the next morning all my party planning greatness would be forgotten by them.I knew it would take me a bit longer to come down from a success seeing as is I’m not known for being successful,so I started the next day planning my 40th birthday party which was and still is years away,and I’m thankful I did work it out at least in my mind because I don’t want to walk around like I am now with planning this wedding being head fucked by visions of something old,something new,something borrowed ,something blue controlling my every thought ,that I have to put a post it note on the back of my toilet to remind myself to wipe….it’s just too much!

On a positive note though, I did learn something through this experience. I learned that if someone wants to say I DO…I’ll just tell them I DON’T!

32 comments

  1. I say recycle the Willy Wonka theme for the wedding. I’ve seen a few episodes of “Platinum Weddings” (I admit grudgingly) but I’ve never seen that.


  2. Shawn, I’m a chick and can’t bring myself to watch “Platinum Weddings.” So tell me after watching those episodes,how does you new vagina feel?


  3. Please take pictures! and not just the boring stuff. (like I need to tell you this -I’m preaching to the choir here πŸ™‚ Anyone who has wedding toilet paper knows that it’s all in the details. Have fun! xo


  4. Please take pictures! and not just the boring stuff. (like I need to tell you this -I’m preaching to the choir here πŸ™‚ Anyone who has wedding toilet paper knows that it’s all in the details. Have fun! xo


  5. I’m sure there will be plenty of pictures taken,Margo. And believe me I know it’s all in the details.My motto has always been Go big or go home. When my father in laws fiancee asked me to do this she told me not to worry about anything she bought it all in advance,all I had to do was throw it together.So when I went to visit and get a good vibe of the place,she pull out all her wedding supplies that amounted to four white table clothes,three silk flowers and some thumb tacks….needless to say ever since I’ve been extremely busy!!


  6. I kind of like the little people theme myself.


  7. I need to hook you up with my daughter then,Mary. All she’s asked for,for her graduation party this year is a couple of midgets to come and entertain.


  8. You still go on spring break? Damn. I thought that ended when you hit the twenties. I call them vacations now.
    What’s with Willie Wonka for a 16 year olds birthday. Isn’t 16 a bit old for Willie Wonka? Just wondering…maybe I’m not up on Willie or could be the sixteen year old thing.


  9. I call it Spring Break, Don because that’s what it is for the kids. As for a Willy Wonka birthday party for a 16 yr. old, I think there is no age limit on having fun with a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory theme. Hell it was lots of fun to plan with that theme.There are so many things you can do with it. I made golden ticket wrapped chocolate bars for the invitations,made a huge chocolate fountain that ran like a stream down the table to dip stuff in, I melted candy to make individual lickable wallpaper as place settings….the list goes on and on. Hell I’ve planned to have my 40th birthday party to have an Alice in Wonderland theme!! You are never too old to act like a kid!!


  10. Oh yes I WANT TO SEE PICTURES!


  11. Will do,NNGAQOAT!!


  12. I’ve always fancied the idea of planning a wedding so that it looks like a funeral …… but with the appropriate words of course. I guess there might be objections though …. tee hee


  13. LOL! DP,I would say so.Great idea though!!!


  14. Hi! O’funny one… Thanks for following! You made my day.

    Blessings,

    Bill


  15. LOL,Bill! So my name is O’funny one now? Well I guess it better than a lot of stuff I’ve been called before.
    No problem about the following, you have a great blog!!!


  16. Midgets coming to entertain. Sweet!!! LOL.


  17. I find it hard to believe how much people like the idea of having midgets as entertainment for a party,TCC. What ever happened to hiring a band or a DJ??


  18. That’s some good Oompa-loompage you got going on in that photo.


  19. Thanks,The Jules. They were so cute and did a fabulous job!


  20. I want a Willie Wonka birthday party! Know any oompa loompas I can hire? That’s hillarious. What good sports your kids were! You seem very creative and fun, so trust your instincts and I’m sure the wedding will be a great success!


  21. No,the oompa loompas I hired have grow up a little now and would be mortified having to dress up as such now,Irene.
    Thanks so much for the vote of confidence in my “abilities” LOL! Hopefully everything will turn out great!!


  22. I can see why the kids all wanted you to do their parties, I bet they had a great time. Maybe a new career for you there ?


  23. LOL! No way,Gitwizard!!! I’m way to much of a perfectionist with this kind of stuff. I’d have no life other than party planning if I did.


  24. That is the most awesome party idea EVER. I love theme parties.

    Oh, and note. That wedding toilet paper is just creepy. I don’t want to wipe my butt with people.


  25. Oh,come on Jules…they won’t bite ya!!


  26. hi
    nice to be here


  27. Well gee, now I’ve got not only the Oompa Loompa song stuck in my head, But throw in White Wedding, and there is no room for anything else. All your fault. Now, I’ve got my 40th coming up in a few years.. nvm just how many. I want a Grease theme. And if you can get my guy to dress up in those tight jeans of back when.. rawwrr, baby rawwrrr.. πŸ™‚

    By the way, this is the second time I’ve left this comment, first time was yesterday.. Damn you Google!


  28. Well gee, now I’ve got not only the Oompa Loompa song stuck in my head, But throw in White Wedding, and there is no room for anything else. All your fault. Now, I’ve got my 40th coming up in a few years.. nvm just how many. I want a Grease theme. And if you can get my guy to dress up in those tight jeans of back when.. rawwrr, baby rawwrrr.. πŸ™‚

    By the way, this is the second time I’ve left this comment, first time was yesterday.. Damn you Google!


  29. Thanks for stopping by,Shimi!


  30. I love the Grease theme,Nipsy! I’m going with an Alice In Wonderland costume party theme,but I’m the only one that gets to be Alice for the night!


  31. Hehehe, if I was anywhere near you, I’d go as the mad hatter.. It just sounds so deliciously me.


  32. I’ll have to send you an invite in 3 yrs.,Nipsy!



Leave a Reply

