h1

Earworm Invasion

July 19, 2008

For the last three days I have had the song “Silly Love Songs”by Wings stuck in my head.I can’t remember this song ever being my “favorite” nor does it conjure up any great memories of the past in my mind. I was only 4 years old when this song was released and haven’t heard it (at least I don’t remember hearing it) any time in the last decade. But none of that matters,because for some strange reason Thursday morning probably two hours into my day, it popped in my head and has been vacationing there ever since.

At first I didn’t mind it at all . It is a happy,sweet, little song, that’s easy to sing along with and well, Paul was always my favorite Beatle. I really thought I could get use to this, a tune filling my head instead of thoughts could be a good thing. My children,of course, weren’t as thrilled with my constant humming and would get quite pissy when they would ask me a question and my answer would always be “Love doesn’t come in a minute ,sometimes it doesn’t come at all” and would walk away before I had a chance to tell them “I only know that when I’m in it It isn’t silly, no, it isn’t silly, love isn’t silly at all.” It actually was quite nice for the first day and a half letting a song drift in and take over my mind.

Mid afternoon on Friday though ,when I tried to relax a little , I found that there was no quiet space in my head. All my internal speakers were blaring the song out in perfect harmony and it didn’t take long until I had enough of silly love songs.So I tried to focus my mind into figuring out ways to rid myself of it ,but every time I would try and think,the song would interrupt my thoughts and take over again.Finally during a second of clarity in the instrumental part of the song, I had a thought,” Why not turn on some heavy angry music and force it from its new home?? Yes! I’m brilliant!!!!”So, I ran as fast as I could and turned on Metallica’s “Enter Sandman“. Within that first verse, banging my head to the beat and singing at the top of my lungs, Sir Paul and the other less famous members of Wings disappeared.

I had found the antidote of the silly love song virus that threatened to take over my being forever . My children noticed quickly and were ecstatic with the change in me. I told them how I rid myself of the nuisance and they were overjoyed (considering they all like Metallica much better than Wings.) The rest of the evening was a quiet one in my head and throughout the house.Until I was tucking them in for the night went to bend down and kiss my teenage daughter goodnight . I kissed her and went to tell her I loved her but instead decided to sing out in a dead-on James Hetfield voice” Hush little baby, don’t say a word ,Never mind that noise you heard .It’s just the beasts under your bed In your closet, in your head”. I laughed and she just looked at me ,rolled her eyes, and sang “What’s wrong with that?I’d like to know, ’cause here I go again I love you.” and as much as I tried, I couldn’t help but sing along with her and the song that’s stuck in my head again.

8 comments

  1. I’ve never heard that song. Perhaps I’ll download it, but I’m kinda scared.


  2. WOW! Sully your comment shows your age and I guess my post shows mine.


  3. …… and talking about age, I saw the Beatles performing live in the early days …… good grief. Never took to Paul much though, I was always a John Fan [and I met the ‘oh so strange but probably misunderstood’ Yoko] …… I think I’ll start preparing my wake now – if I ever wake up …..


  4. Ok so I understand why you didn’t take to Paul much….John had much more talent and musically I like John much better myself, DP. Let me admit and sound completely shallow that, Paul was my favorite because he was the nicest to look at. I actually didn’t like the band Wings at all. So the song that is still playing sporadically in my head today, is driving me quite mad.

    What was Yoko like??


  5. Oh, yes, I remember that song… thanks for getting it stuck in my head.

    And in retribution, I just have one thing to say…

    At the Copa – Copacabana
    The hottest spot north of Havana…

    (try getting that one out!)


  6. Ouch!! You had to hit me with some Barry Manilow! That wasn’t very nice! I use to love the Copacabana.It’s lots of fun to dance around to.


  7. You’ll have to wait – I keep meaning to write a post about Yoko and will get round to it one day – she let herself down I’m sorry to say …..


  8. I’d be very interested in reading that post. I’ll have to keep a watch out on your blog for it.



Leave a Reply

